Motor has power but seems to be DEAD ! Begin with checking the impeller and motor shaft to see if it it is turning freely. There should also be a start capacitor at the back of the motor. I looked last night and found the following information: I’M A TECH AND THERE ARE GAPS IN MANY OF THESE COMMENTS . Which start and run capacitors do I need? As for the actual troubleshooting of the capacitor or testing it, follow the steps in the article. As you can imagine, a bad capacitor is going to have other measurable characteristics that are suboptimal. When the motor is close to running speed, the Start capaciotor is switched out of the winding circuits. The shaft and impeller spin freely. Check the rating on the pool pump capacitor for replacement specifications. is SF-N1-3/4A /340037. Electric motor starting & run capacitor troubleshooting FAQs Questions & Answers about Electric Motor Start-Boost or Run Capacitors Capacitors are electric devices that get an electric motor running at start-up or that help keep a motor running once it has started. Also, I haven’t tried to turn the pump on in at least 6 months since it stopped working. If the shaft does not spin manually, the bearings or complete motor should be replaced. I’ll look at the start cap. Motor Bearings. pump was shut off this morning tripped circuit breaker Pump model Pentair 1.0 HP whisperflo WFE4 They both look similar to a large battery. 99. I purchased a new one from you guys and it’s working fine. I have a 400v 2. menu Whirlpool Go to navigation. Bad Pool Pump Motor?? The capacitor on the top is The buzzing noise will not be accompanied by rotation sounds from the impeller of the pump. This guide gives you a few other things to check: My Pool Pump Runs On Low Speed But Not On High Speed. There are basically two types of capacitors used on small pool pump motors commonly found on residential in ground pool systems. When it cools, it restores power and the motor tries again to start so you hear intermittent hu